How do I delete my account?

Your ability to cancel your ID.me membership and/or an individual retailer's authorization (app) at any time is a core feature of the ID.me platform. We value each and every member of the ID.me community and we certainly don’t want to see you go. Sometimes members think they need to close their account because they don’t understand what ID.me is or how they arrived at our doorstep from one of our partners’ websites. Before you decide to delete your account with ID.me, we’d love the opportunity to help clarify any questions or solve any problem you may be having.

If you just want to stop unwanted e-mails, you can opt-out of our e-mail subscription list on your Account Settings page or by clicking “unsubscribe” at the bottom of any of the e-mails you’ve received from us.

If there is anything that we can help you with that might change your mind, please send an e-mail to help@id.me and a representative from our Member Support team will be happy to assist you.

 

Common questions about deleting your ID.me account:

 

Will my account be deleted immediately? No, there’s a 7-day waiting period to provide an opportunity to really think it through and to give you a chance to change your mind. Often times, deleting an account is impulsive and most people end up trying to recreate the account. We’ll address that issue in the next question.

If you’re positive that you want to delete your account, once you file the request there’s nothing else you have to do. Once the 7-day waiting period expires, your account and all information contained in that account will be purged.
Can I recreate my account after it's been deleted? No, you can't reopen your account with the same email address, but you can create a new account.

If you change your mind about closing your account during the waiting period, contact us to cancel your account closure.
What happens to my account after it's been deleted? Once your account is deleted and the information contained in it have been purged, you’ll no longer be able to use the e-mail address associated with the deleted account to access any part of ID.me that requires an account.
Can I delete my account if it's been suspended or locked? If your account has been locked, you can delete your account if you wish. The account would still be subject to the 7-day waiting period.

Deleting a suspended account depends on the reason that the account was suspended in the first place. Please contact our Member Support Team if you’re account was suspended and you’d like to delete your account.
What if I have an outstanding cash back balance on my account? When you delete your account, all information contained within that account is purged after the 7-day waiting period. Any remaining balance in your cash back account will be paid out in the next cycle.
What does ID.me do with my personal information after I delete my account? ID.me keeps personal information in accordance with our Privacy Policy. This is necessary to comply with laws, prevent fraud, resolve problems, assist with any investigations, enforce our Terms of Service, and take other actions as permitted by law.
Have more questions? Submit a request