If you want to unsubscribe from ID.me emails, you can opt-out of our email list on your Account Settings page or by clicking “unsubscribe” at the bottom of any ID.me email.
If there is anything that we can help you with that might change your mind, please contact us and a representative from our Member Support team will be happy to assist you.
In the event that you wish to delete your account, you can do so from your Account Settings page on ID.me.
1) From the Account Settings page, click "Security" and then click the "Deactivate" button in the "Deactivate My Account" section.
2) Select a reason for account deletion.
You'll also be offered a chance to enter comments about why you're deleting your account.
3) Click "Close Account."
Your account will be enrolled in the Account Deletion process and be fully deleted within seven days.
EXTREMELY IMPORTANT: Once you close your account, the action cannot be reversed after the 7th day. Our fraud detection protocols will prevent any subsequent accounts from being able to verify with the same information. Please proceed with extreme caution.
Common questions about deleting your ID.me account
Will my account be deleted immediately?
There’s a 7-day waiting period to provide an opportunity think through your decision or change your mind. Often times, deleting an account is impulsive and people end up trying to recreate or reactivate their accounts later. Once the 7-day waiting period expires, your account and all information contained in that account will be purged.
Can I recreate my account after it's been deleted?
You won't be able to reopen your account with the same email address, but you can create a new account.
If you change your mind about closing your account during the waiting period, contact us to cancel your account closure.
What happens to my account after it's been deleted?
Once your account is deleted and the information contained in it have been purged, you’ll no longer be able to use the email address associated with the deleted account to access any part of ID.me that requires an account.
Can I delete my account if it's been suspended or locked?
Please contact our Member Support Team if you’re account was suspended and you’d like to delete your account. The account would still be subject to the 7-day waiting period.
What if I have an outstanding cash back balance on my account?
Any remaining balance in your cash back account will be paid out in the next cycle via the method you chose in your Account Settings page.
What does ID.me do with my personal information after I delete my account?