When verifying your identity for a partner (like the IRS) or verifying your membership of a community (like First Responders or Teachers), part of the process is to consent to share some of your personal information with the partner or community for whom you are verifying. Granting your consent provides the partner with access to your identity credential. You can revoke continued access to your credential at any time. This article explains how to revoke your shared credential:
What to know
- After you revoke access for a partner, that partner can no longer access new information related to your account. Any information already shared with an ID.me partner cannot be retrieved.
- Revoking your identity credential from a partner may cause a delay or disruption to the services you need through that partner since they can no longer verify you've completed the necessary verification.
Revoke partner access
To remove a partner’s access to your information:
- Sign in to your ID.me account.
- From your account dashboard, select the "Sign In & Security" tab.
- In the side menu, select Privacy.
- Find the website name you want to remove access to, then select Revoke Access.
- Select Revoke to confirm.