Skip to main content

Close a duplicate IDMe Wallet to reuse your email

If you created a duplicate IDMe account and no longer want that account, you can delete itThis article shows how to close it.

Note: If you have multiple wallets and need to close one, make sure you close the duplicate wallet. Do not close your verified wallet.

Understand your wallets

  • Verified wallet: The wallet you used in the past to verify your identity.
  • Duplicate wallet: Another wallet that you created more recently. It has the email address you’d like to use on your verified wallet.

Step 1: Sign in to your duplicate wallet

  1. Go to the IDMe sign-in page
  2. Enter the email address that’s on your duplicate wallet (not your verified one), then select Continue. 
  3. Enter your password, then select Continue.

If you have trouble signing in, visit I can’t sign in to my IDMe Wallet.

Step 2: Close your duplicate wallet

To close your duplicate wallet:

  1. Sign in to your IDMe Wallet.
  2. In the top menu, select Sign In & Security, then select Privacy.
  3. Under “Manage my data,” select Remove my data.
  4. Select Close my wallet. Select a reason for closing it.
  5. Select Yes, close my wallet. 

Step 3: Add the email to your verified wallet

Note: After closing your duplicate wallet, you must wait 7 days before you can add the email address from that wallet to your verified one.
  1. After the 7-day waiting period, go to the IDMe sign-in page and enter the email and password that’s on your verified wallet.
  2. Add the email address that was on the duplicate wallet that you closed. For step-by-step instructions, visit Change your IDMe email address.

Was this article helpful?