You're in control of your data and can close your ID.me account at any time. After you close the account, ID.me will deactivate your verified status and will remove your personal information from active use on our platform. This article explains what to know before closing your account and how to close it.
If you’re having trouble
If you’re having trouble with the verification process, signing in to your account, or other issues, we can help you fix the issue.
Before closing your account
Before closing your account, keep in mind:
- When you close your account, it enters a seven-day waiting period. During this time, you can contact ID.me Support to stop the account closure process. At the end of seven days, your account is permanently deactivated.
- After seven days, you may use the same email address to create a new ID.me account. None of the information from your previous account can be recovered, you will be required to provide all necessary information in order to re-verify.
- If you are verifying your identity in order to use ID.me to assist in applying for government benefits, deleting your account will interrupt the verification process and may delay your application. .
- Your information will no longer be verified after deletion.
Close your account
To close your ID.me account:
- Sign in to your ID.me account.
- In the top menu, select Sign In & Security.
- In the menu on the left, select Close Account.
- Select I would like to close my account.
- Select a reason for closing your account, then enter optional feedback.
- Select Yes, close my account.
After your account is closed
After you close your account, your account information is deactivated.
My account was suspended or locked. Can I close it?
No. To close a locked or suspended account, contact ID.me Support and choose Managing my account in the drop-down menu.
If I have Cash Back in my account, will I receive the money after deleting my account?
Maybe. Any remaining balance over $10 will be paid to your PayPal account during the next cycle.